About Blog Challenges

I signed up for a blog challenge thinking it’d be fun and would inspire me to write something at least every other day. And it did at first. But then it starting becoming less of a pass time and more of an obligation.
Personally I feel the only time you should force yourself to do something you don’t want to do is when the reward greatly outweighs the effort. (See: studying, exercise, eating healthy)
This was not one of those times.
Sure I was gaining blogging practice and getting those posts out but my blog is not at the point where I need to constantly update it. It’s not like there’s anyone hanging on to my every word. And I’m okay with that. I’m not at that point yet and maybe I’ll get there or maybe I won’t.
That’s by the way.
Towards the middle of the blog challenge I lost all forms of motivation. The topics were exciting and all and it’s not like I was suffering from writer’s block or anything but… I just didn’t want to.
It felt a lot like giving up but then when I did try to write it seemed stilted and forced but finally I was like, “Hey. You. Yeah you. What are you doing? This blogging thing is meant to be fun. You’re not getting paid. Calm down. You don’t have to write if you don’t want to. No judgment. But maybe get a little exercise once in a while. And go outside and interact. It wouldn’t kill you.”
Anyhow I gave up on the challenge (and general blogging, for a while) but I’m back now.
And while I won’t promise to never do another challenge (Who knows? There might be a three-day-two-hundred-word challenge that would be more my speed), I do promise – to myself – to always remember that this blog is for my entertainment first and foremost no matter what the future may bring.
What about you? How do you feel when you have to give up on something? Or are you one of the persevere-and-hope-for-the-best types? Let me know in the comments below.

For more posts like this, follow my blog!

Leave a Reply

