About Readers and Followers

I get really excited when people follow me and even more when people comment on my work.
“An actual human being has read something I wrote and they like it.”
I would prefer 100 followers who I interact with to 1000 followers who I don’t (if I’m being honest, I would prefer a 1000 followers who I interact with but my mind cannot handle such a level of social interaction).
Followers are more than just a number on a page. They are people with stories and memories and hopes and dreams and lives.
I want to use this medium to appreciate everyone who follows me and those who actually read my posts and like them and even comment on them! I think the commenters are my favorite.
I don’t want to have followers just so that when people open my blog they’ll be impressed by the high number (that’s what Instagram is for #ShamelessSelfInsert)
I don’t seek approval from others or need the approval of others to be happy but I do want the approval of others to be happier. I’m not going to lie; I like attention.
It bothers me when a post has a lot more likes than views. I’m not really into the number aspect (not that I’m turning down any likes. Please keep ’em coming) and I would much rather know people are actually reading what I write. 
A good way to boost your blog is to interact with people. But try to remember that people aren’t just there for your benefit. If you want someone to read your posts, the least you can do is read theirs as well.
I follow tags that interest me (such as blog, teen, writing etc) and I try to only like posts that I’ve read and I try to make my comments as thoughtful as possible.
I’ve met a lot of new people and discovered some rather interesting blogs which has made this whole blogging thing far more exciting.
I always endeavour to comment on every first post by a new blog.
I’m not doing this because I want more traffic on my blog (But it does generate a lot of traffic); I’m doing it because I know how it felt when I was new to blogging (all of two months ago. Aren’t I ancient.) and my posts got basically no response.

What matters more to you? Followers, views, comments or likes?

For more posts like this, follow my blog!

44 thoughts on “About Readers and Followers

  1. Elm says:

    Definitely comments, because it shows that people have read what I write and don’t just like for the sake of it. I guess, I have a lot of followers, but I don’t often interact with them which makes me really sad because I should do it more

    Liked by 1 person

  2. sophiabuck says:

    I loved this, especially because I always feel the exact same when someone likes, comments and follows. It’s such a great feeling, and I also agree with you in that it’s hard to talk about wanting to have comments and followers without coming across as ‘attention-seeking’. xo,
    Phia

    Liked by 2 people

    • Jemima says:

      Exactly. Because the basic truth is every one wants their blog to be important. The main point of posting something online is so others can see it if not you’d just write it down and keep it to yourself.
      So there’s nothing wrong with getting excited at an increase in followers or a comment.

      Liked by 1 person

      • sophiabuck says:

        Yeah! I’m actually so happy that you agree! I think that as we continue to put all our efforts into blogging, our blogs will grow and succeed more and more, and also we will become more cultured and experienced.

        Like

      • Jemima says:

        Yeah that’s very true. I sometimes need to remind myself of that whenever I see other blogs with lots of followers. They’ve put in a lot more time than I have so I can expect the same result. We all get to where we’re going at our own pace and if you keep on being concerned with other people, you’ll end up not going anywhere.

        Liked by 1 person

      • sophiabuck says:

        Yes exactly! They say that comparison is the thief of joy, and I really agree with that! If some blogs grow quicker than others, so be it! We all have our own pace, and we although we ALL have the same destination, eventually everyone will reach it x

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Inspired Teen says:

    I think they are all good in different ways; views shows you people are actually reading your work; likes can show you that people liked what they read (but it doesn’t always show you that); comments show you that they enjoyed it or found it interesting enough to voice their opinion and followers shows you that someone liked what they read enough that they want to read more from you in the future. I don’t think I can choose, they’re all just awesome features ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. thewallandthem says:

    Comments. Has to be them. The idea that someone has gone through what you’ve posted, they’ve understood or at least tried to, is absolutely endearing.
    Specially the long. They are the best.
    I totally agree with you. Blogging is much like social media sites according to me. Like you said, it’s about making connections and understanding and appreciating the other person.
    It’s funny I mostly always check out the first post, to understand where the author is coming from, how they’ve grown and evolved. Blogging honestly has been exhilarating.
    Also everyone likes attention. It feels good to know people are reading you work. If you didn’t want other to notice you or what you write, you would just have a personal journal, wouldn’t you? ๐Ÿ™‚
    Following you now. Take care. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  5. makingtimeforme says:

    For sure the comments are my favorite!! They do allow you to interact with people. They let you know that someone actually took the time to read your post. Someone can follow and never read a post, someone can like your post and never even click to open it! I blogged for 14 months before I was doing it purposefully. Then in January of this year, I decided to “spread the love”, which meant I was going to be an active participant out in the blogosphere! I open up many posts every day and take my time to comment on them and even reblog them to show my appreciation for my fellow bloggers time and energy. I would in fact love to share this post if that would be OK with you ๐Ÿ™‚ Happy Tuesday!

    Like

    • Jemima says:

      By all means, share away. Blogging became a lot more fun for me when I started reading and commenting on other people’s works. And it has been very beneficial to my views as well. So that’s that’s bonus.
      And a comment may seem like no big deal to type but it could actually really encourage someone. Knowing that you’ve been able to help someone else is a pretty great feeling.
      Thanks for the thoughtful comment.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. leegionella says:

    I can’t really choose between followers and comments! For me, both are equally important.

    If you gain a follower, it means they like your work and looks forward to reading more from you. Whereas if someone comments in your post, it means you triggered / stimulated something in their minds that made them respond. โค๏ธ

    Liked by 1 person

  7. xliteraturelove says:

    I definitely think comments are most important (compared to views, likes, etc). It doesn’t just let you interact with followers but you can end up making friends or talking about things you wouldn’t normally be able to (e.g. that TV show your friends won’t watch). Followers are great, but if you have 1000 followers and an average of only 5-10 comments per post, it feels like people follow for the sake of it and don’t actually keep reading and paying attention to what you’re saying.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jemima says:

      That’s so true! Especially about the talking thing. And it’s definitely easier to talk to strangers on the internet than strangers in real life. Not to mention, you can tell them all your fan headcanons that your friends are tired of listening to.
      Thanks for the comment!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Journey says:

    Definitely comments! I don’t get many comments on my blog but when ever I receive some I feel like a kid in a candy store. And just the feeling of knowing that someone actually took the time to read what I’ve written gives me joy unlike when someone just likes (which I appreciate) you don’t even know if the person actually read what you’ve got say or just simply pressed the like button.

    Like

    • Jemima says:

      Oh I would have replied to this sooner but for some reason WordPress stored it under spam.
      And that’s so true. Like in your stats page, you can have like 6 views on a post and over 20 likes. Just does not add up.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Zineb says:

    Comments, comments and comments! I understand that sometimes people don’t have much to say about a post so they just leave a like (I’m one of those), and I also understand that sometimes what they want to say can’t be put into words but yes I really do appreciate comments a lot. I try to comment on posts as much as I can because I know how it feels like to have someone take the time to sit and type every letter and every word, and I also know how it could be difficult for some to put words together. So yes likes and especially comments make me happy more than views, don’t get me wrong it’s nice to know that a lot of people have read my post but nothing can compare to the feeling of having a reader interact with you and make you feel like your post was important to them.๐Ÿ’™

    Liked by 1 person

  10. laurelwolfelives says:

    I like having followers. It took a while to get the ones I have. I really love the comments and the interaction between us. I try to follow everybody who follows me and I read all of their posts. I have gotten so much support on this site. I would call it almost a life-saver…at least to me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

