The Thing About Writing

The thing about writing is, much like with everything in life, there’s more than one way to do it.
See I’m always coming across these posts giving advice on how to write (she said, ignoring the fact that she has made one of such posts).
Some say “Show, don’t tell.”

The man walked into the kitchen, lit a fire, placed the kettle above it and settled down at his table to wait, heart beating in time with the raindrops on the roof.

Others say “Be direct. Don’t waste time describing unnecessary things.”

It was raining and the man put the kettle on the stove.

Well I say it doesn’t matter either way. As long as you get the message across, what does it matter what path you take?
Okay in a way it kind of matters. You wouldn’t want to be one of those “My name is Ebony Darkness Dementia Raven Way” type of writers. But really, everyone has their own writing style and no article in the world can change that.

It’s kinda like people who write motivational books.
“Hey I’ve made a large sum of money and now I’m going to tell you exactly how I did it even though it will not help you in anyway whatsoever because if the key to success was as easy as writing it down in a book then every beggar and horse would be rich. But I don’t care about that. Buy my book. It’s totally different from all the other books saying the exact same thing.”
(I may have a bit of a pet peeve with motivational books)

Also the fact of the matter is not everyone can write. It’s harsh but it’s true.
If you hand someone something you’ve painstakingly slaved over and their reactions are mostly of the cringey variety, then maybe writing isn’t for you. This is not to say you’re not talented at all. You may be good at many other things. But writing isn’t one of them.
But then again, what do I know? If writing is what you love then who cares if you’re good at it or not? Heaven knows there are certain pitches I shouldn’t even attempt to reach but it doesn’t stop me from screeching them out anyway.
Of course, with practice, your writing style can still improve significantly so there is always hope.
So I guess what this post is saying is… nothing really. I’m sure I had a point when I first started typing but I lost it somewhere along the line.
And that’s the beauty of writing; you fall off one line, you just keep going on the new one. And it will eventually make sense. Hopefully.

Do you have any writing tips or advice that you follow? How have they worked out for you?


For more posts like this, follow my blog

7 thoughts on “The Thing About Writing

  1. oddauthoramandamccoy.com says:

    I kind of lean on the side of, everyone is a writer. If some people don’t like an author’s writing, it just means the writer needs to hone their skills more. There’s no good writers or bad writers, there’s just writers at different stages of their development. The only way a person could not be a writer is if they stop writing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jemima says:

      Yeah I get that but I think there is good or bad writing. It’s like with talent and skill. Something written by someone who is good at writing naturally tends to flow better than that of one who was taught how to write. While I agree that a person is a writer as long as they write, I have to say that at some point you have to consider that just because it’s something you love does not mean it’s something you’re good at.

      Like

  2. Elm says:

    That’s it, I’m in love with your blog. YES you’re right! I often say – write for you, and not for the person reading. If the person reading it likes it, that’s great. But if you write it for YOU, you’ll like it, and that’s really important.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

