Customer Service

I have this habit of backtracking on things that happen to me in my mind. I handle the situation one way then wish I’d handled it another.
Like “Ugh, I should have totally said something” or “I shouldn’t have even said anything in the first place.”
Case in point:
I go out with my friend and we’re contemplating what to order. The lady at the counter shows up suddenly and it goes down like this.
Lady: What do you want?
Me: I’d like the hot dog and er… You wanted the chicken pie right?
Yvonne (my friend): Yeah the chicken pie
Lady: We don’t have chicken pie. That’s fish pie.
Yvonne: Eurgh, I don’t want fish pie.
Me (to Yvonne): What about the ham and egg sandwich?
Lady: Ugh. Let me know when you’ve made up your mind.
And she walks away.
Like okay hold up.
First of all, we didn’t call you over in the first place. Secondly, excuse us for going over our options. Thirdly, rude much.
I’m not one of those people that demand service with a smile or whatever but I do expect a reciprocal amount of courtesy. I get it; the job is stressful.
I’ve worked in clientele service before. Sometimes you get annoying clients. Sometimes you’re not having a good day and you’re not feeling up to people. But what people don’t realise is that that’s part of life. Welcome to the club buddy.
I don’t like interacting with people much but I did it because, and pay close attention here, that was my job.
I chose that line of work and I had a responsibility to uphold it to the best of my ability.
Sure, times are tough and the job you have may not be the job you want but is you being salty to customers going to make it any better?
Anyway, I walked out of the restaurant because I was not about to deal with that attitude (also we’d just had tea and biscuits so we were just being greedy, really.) My friend stayed back and gave her a piece of her mind though.
It sucks that you have to deal with asshole customers but consider that there’s probably a reason they’re acting terrible. Maybe their boss is a jerk or they also had to deal with horrible clients or they have problems at home. Or maybe they’re just jerks for no reason.
The point is if you start acting like you’re displeased with your job and getting rude to customers, you’re the one who’s going to be faulted.
It’s not fair, yes, because goodness knows there are some people who deserve a good talking back to but, unfortunately, that might get you fired. It’s all part of this daily rollercoaster that is life.
Of course there are subtle ways to get back at customers but I hope you’d be above that. I’m not saying spit in their food or anything (that’s over-the-top repulsive. And unsanitary. And nasty. Ugh). But a little time delay here, a little uneccesary paperwork there, all with a smile of course. It’s petty but sometimes it helps.
Anyway, this post was originally supposed to be about looking back on situations but I digressed so I ended up changing the topic.

Do you have a job? Do you ever have to deal with people that are rude or when you’re not in a good mood? How do you handle it?

For more posts like this, follow my blog!

Leave a Reply

