I Am Not Amused. 

I’m pissed. 

I’m seriously pissed. 

I am so angry right now. 

The reason I’m so mad is… well it may seem silly to most but it’s a reason all the same. 

I read this fanfiction on AO3 where Draco Malfoy takes polyjuice and is gangraped by the Gryffindor boys in his year. 

Obviously I would be pissed at any form of rape. 

But I am actually irrationally angry right now and I say “irrationally” because these are fictional characters. 

And, on some level, I know they are fictional characters but… I have invested so much of my life into fanfiction and, at some point, these characters become people to you.

So the fact that someone would write about something so depraved happening to what I consider a fellow person pisses me off so bloody much! 

Argh! I want to take the writer and just… gah! 

And I can’t leave a scathing comment because I make a point not to put down anybody’s efforts or work, no matter how terrible or depraved they may be. Stupid principles. 

Of course, the mark of a good writer is to make the reader feel something and that something doesn’t always have to be good but… I don’t know how to put it. 

I read some of the author’s other works and apparently dubious or no consent at all seems to be a large theme in their works. 

I know that what people write about doesn’t necessarily reflect their person but I do believe that how you write does. 

Like let’s say you write a very graphic abuse scene? No problem there, it’s your imagination. 

But now, let’s say you write about a graphic child abuse scene from the point of the abuser and you make a point to justify the actions of the abuser and blame the child for these actions. And not in a way that it seems like you’re writing from the view of the abuser but rather that you are trying to convince the reader that the abuser is justified in their abusive tendencies when it’s blatantly obvious that they are not. 

Does that make sense? 

I don’t know. 

I’m less pissed now though. 

Urgh, I just remembered Umbridge from Harry Potter. I could not stand that bitch! 

I… think I’m in an irritable mood tonight. 

Is there any thing that pisses you off when reading? 

6 thoughts on “I Am Not Amused. 

  1. Zee says:

    Totally get your anger from both a rape culture opposition and fangirl point of view. I am not 100 % a Potterhead, but I do have the biggest Draco crush! Hopefully this person just has an active imagination 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Vincent Desmond says:

    Its just sad though, once I read a fanfic, a twilight and Harry Potter crossover, that Dumbledore was raping Harry Potter…he didn’t succeed though cause Harry Turned into some Angel hybrid and earlier in the fanfic, Grayback raped Harry, so I understand where you are coming from though….i think it’s a little weird when they justify the rape, you know? Like, they might also justify themselves if they do it
    quirksandoutfits.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jemima says:

      I actually don’t mind an unexpected ending because it may be a nice surprise and at least the story isn’t too predictable.
      But I hate when the ending is too unexpected. Like when it makes no sense at all. It seems like the author is trying too hard.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

