It’s Starting To Feel A Lot Like… Nothing. 

Christmas is three days and I just now realised that. 

What happened? 

10 years ago, I would have been so excited for Christmas! The tree would be up and my hair would be done and I’d have the most gorgeous dress to wear to church on Sunday (because that’s what Christmas in Nigeria is like: You do your Christmas hair and buy your Christmas clothes then go to church and you come home or go to any Christmas party and eat jollof rice and fried rice with coleslaw, plantain, turkey, chicken and lots of drinks.)

But over the years the excitement waned and waned till it got to this point: 3 days to Christmas and I’m still carrying the same weave I had on last month, no new dresses or shoes and not even a sign of a list for food ingredients. Presents? Ha. 

So how did it get this bad? 

I don’t know. 

It just kinda crept up slowly and I don’t think we realise it until suddenly it’s the 28th and you’re like “Oh that’s right, there was Christmas.”

I don’t like it one bit.

And I know it’s not just me because people have been saying “It just doesn’t feel like Christmas.”

Because Christmas is honestly a feeling. I don’t know how to describe it exactly but it’s a warm feeling in your stomach and a fizzy feeling in your heart and a clear feeling in your head. It’s like the excitement and anticipation because you know with Christmas comes a new year and lots of presents and family fun time and all that. 

But that feeling is just gone now. Poof. Vanished. 

Maybe it’s because Nigeria is in a recession right now and people may not be feeling particularly festive but I think it was a long time coming. 

I don’t think it’s possible for a holiday to be forgotten or cancelled but it is possible for it to just be ignored yeah? 

Sigh. I miss you, Christmas. Do come back. 

I’m going to end this slightly depressing post now. 

How are you feeling about Christmas? Do you have any plans? Are you even feeling Christmas? 


8 thoughts on “It’s Starting To Feel A Lot Like… Nothing. 

  1. Josh says:

    I feel like the Christmas feeling has to build up first, but with all the tragedy that’s going on, that buildup keeps getting interrupted. There’s just not enough time to make it feel like Christmas when so much diverts your attention and it’s just so sad

    Liked by 3 people

  2. L says:

    Christmas is always so much more exciting when you’re a kid: I think across the globe (I’m in London), Christmas is a little less exciting this year, probably due to the worldwide depression that is 2016, and our desperation to end it ASAP. X

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

