New Year, New Me? Lol, nah b. 

At the end of every year, amidst the celebrations and resolutions, we always see those people with the message: New Year, New Me. 

My question is, why? 

Why do you feel the need to change yourself just because an old year was coming to an end? 

What’s so wrong with you that you feel you need a “new” you for a new year? 

Why do you feel you have to wait till the end of the year to begin this change of yourself? 

Are you aware that time is just a human construct and the only difference between 11:59PM 31st December and 12:01AM 1st January is your perception? 

It’s already 2017 in the GMT+13 time zone so the New Year has basically started. 

There’s no actual reason to wait until a new year to change yourself or make resolutions or whatever.

You want to start that diet and work out more? Do it now. 

You want to be more outgoing? Go for it! 

You need to cut off some toxic people in your life? Why are you even waiting. 
If there’s a change you feel you should be making in your life, do it this very second. There’s no sense in waiting for a whole year. The fact that the time has changed doesn’t suddenly give you a clean slate. 

Don’t wait until the last day of the year to say that the year has passed. The year started passing the moment it began so you have no time to lose. 

Let your resolutions start effective immediately. 

So in light of this, I will not be making any resolutions for the new year.

I will, however, be looking back on my blog. I started this blog March this year and I may not have been as dedicated to it as I’d like to be but I like where it is right now. 

This is my favorite blog feature. I started this blog partly as a chance to explore other nations and cultures and I have met very interesting people from far away and nearby so I’d say I accomplished that goal. Yay. 

On that note, I shall end this post. 

I wish you all the best in 2017. 

What are your plans for 2017? Any resolutions? Did you achieve your 2016 resolutions? 

20 thoughts on “New Year, New Me? Lol, nah b. 

  1. Needo's Life says:

    I’m actually with you in: “you don’t have to wait till the the new year to change” however I still do think that the new year kinda gives me some really BIG inspiration to make my goals as it feels like a fresh start and a whole new page in life.
    For the goals, I did a post about it 🙂
    Hope you have an amazing happy new year..

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jemima says:

      Yeah I get that and for those who stick to it, it’s great. But there’s no point in going “I’ll stop smoking next year” in June and then expect to magically stop smoking on January 1st

      Liked by 1 person

  2. stellbell says:

    Seriously just fell in love with your blog, literally JUST started blogging yesterday and have just tonight realised the amazing community on here! (Fkn love it) and your blog is a refreshing, HONEST enlightenment on life… love it Jemima. Gained an avid reader
    – stell xxxx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. mimasarah says:

    So I was just about to write basically this same post about the over-hype of the new year, but with more rambling and pointless anecdotes, because I entirely agree 😛 why wait to make stuff better when you could do it NOW?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

